The Weekend Project

Yep…it’s Tuesday. I was a little busy yesterday watching the Blackhawks lose their chance at the Stanley cup… I guess there always next year!

Any ways….It’s that time of year when I get antsy and think of hundreds of things to do around the house. With summer coming up (and no summer school to teach this year) I try to keep my days filled with things to do.

The hubs seems to hate this time of year because I have nothing but time on my hands and well….let’s just say he’s not a teacher! But don’t feel bad for him! I think he secretly loves my projects!

The first project on my list of things to do: put up a border around our deck. I had been thinking about large river rock but realized it wasn’t easy or cheap to find. So I resorted to my second choice which was just plain ol stone.

Here is a picture of our deck taken a few days after we moved in. Last year we replaced the trellace and restrained the deck. This year I want to make it look pretty! Starting with a border around the deck.

And here is a current picture of what it looked like just before we put in the brick. I doesn’t look bad but it didn’t look good either. There isn’t a lot sun in this area and so very little grass grows. It is one of the reasons we decided to plants hostas (since they require very little sunlight).

Before we went shipping we measured the area around the deck…approximately 30 feet. We end up with:

  • 40 stone bricks
  • 3 bags each of the step 1 (gavel)and step 2 (sand) but in the end we only ended up using 1 of each.
  • 8 bags of mulch
  • Mesh…we already had when we laid rock in the front of the house

We simply determined how we wanted to lay the brick, used a 2 x 4 to help form a nice straight time…then we used spray paint to mark where we would need to dig a small trench so we could place the step 1 and 2 before laying the brick. We used a level and right angle tool to make rue everything was even.

Several hours later we have this….

And since we had extra mulch we added some to the hostas along the back wall of the garage…looks a lot better than dirt!

Leave a Reply

