I always wanted one of these

I have always wanted an ottoman.  Every time I see them at the store I imagine sitting on my couch with my feet nicely placed on the ottoman with a big comfy blanket draped over my legs.  Ahhhhh!  I am sooo happy to say I finally have one!  Yep, that’s right.  And although it’s not from a thrift store I did make the entire ottoman…with the help of the husband of course!  It’s not 100% finished but it’s about 90% on its way to being completed.

Did I mention we recently just go married on July 23, 2011?  Did I also mention we had the wedding in the back yard!  More importantly we built a dance floor in our back yard!  The reason for telling you this is that after the wedding we had a ton of wood left over.  The wood was in great shape and we just couldn’t bring ourselves to throw it away, so we placed it in the garage knowing we would eventually use it again.

Well, fast forward a few months when I come up with this great idea to build an ottoman!  Great idea since all I would need to purchase would be the fabric.  So that’s exactly what we did.  The first step was figuring out the measurements.  I knew right away I wanted a longer rectangular shaped ottoman rather than a square ottoman.  Here are the measurements below:                                                             

With the measurements down it was time to start building.  Here is the frame of the lid of the ottoman.  We decided to make it like a chest to store extra blankets and throw pillows.  Don’t mind the grass, most of it died under the dance floor since it was about 100 degrees that week!  We are still trying to grow grass but with the cooler weather it will probably have to wait until next spring.

Sorry about the dog butt!

I wrapped the ottoman frame in fluffy felt to cushion things up a little. I also used a really thick padding for the top of the ottoman…But I forgot to take a picture. Sorry about that!

Finally the big reveal.  I still have a few things left to do such as put the sides onto the ottoman and purchase hinges for the lid. 

There you have it. Not bad for only me second upholstery project. Upholstering definately gets easier with each project except the corners. If you ask me they are a pain in the ***. If you know what I mean. I am pretty sure every corner on the ottoman is different. I just can’t seem to get it down. Anyone have any suggestions or easy techniques for the corners. I doubt this will be my last upholstered project and if I come with with any myself I will be sure to share! Hopefully I will have some updated pictures by the weeks end of the ottoman!

Leave a Reply

