Photography

We recently received a very nice camera as a shower gift for our wedding back in April.  A canon rebel T1i .  Since then I have been trying to figure out how to use it.  Don’t get me wrong I can easily manipulate a point and shoot camera.  However, this camera has a few extra features to say the least.  If anyone out there is new to photography you understand how a small piece of equipment can feel so overwhelming!  Since I have this new camera I thought I should learn the ins and outs of taking a good picture.  I am definitely no professional but I am learning more and more each time I use it.  Here are a few recent pictures I took: These pictures are au natural!  No photoshop work done on these guys(probably because I don’t own photoshop!)  Lately, I have been playing around with the aperture.  Aperture is often read for example f2, f8, f15, f22, and so on.  The lower your aperture number (for example f2) the more light you are allowing into your picture.  The higher your aperture the less light you are allowing into your picture.  I know that sounds crazy and it seems it should be reversed but that’s how it works.  I didn’t invent the rules, I just play by them!

I am still learning what works best in different lighting.  Currently I am only taking nature like pictures but I hope to use my knowledge and skills to eventually take pictures of actual human beings :-).  Nothing serious…just a designated family photographer!  Anyone else learning photography?  Any tips you can offer would be much appreciated!

2 thoughts on “Photography

  1. KatiesCameraBlog

    Ah, learning photography and a new camera is fun and it can be confusing! These are really nice photos by the way. Very pretty and I can see your eye in them.I think its best not to get into the Photoshop trap. It’s a wonderful tool, but I like to try and get my images to come out good right out of the camera.

    Aperture is confusing! My suggestion is to just shoot and shoot and shoot some more. I’m self taught, and it’s come by reading some and photographing more. I wish you good fun and learning with your camera!

    Reply
    1. Knowledge Knot Post author

      Thanks!! Aperture is totally confusing. I am also just learning as I go. Sometime the pictures turn out great and other times not so much!! Taking pictures is probably the best way to learn…or at least for me. I can read but the more I shoot the more I learn!! Thanks again 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

